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  • Want to know how much your house ads are worth? Use download tracking!

    alex (January 10th, 2012)

    If you’re a developer with multiple apps, you’re probably using house ads to promote across titles. Most developers, however, are not clear on how much these cross-promotional house ads are actually worth. In turn, it is often difficult to decide which promotional combination will monetize with the best results. With Burstly’s download tracking feature, it’s easy to find out.

    Download tracking is a feature that allows you to match clicks on an ad to an app install (meaning a user downloaded the app and opened it at least once). This allows you to determine the conversion rate for a particular ad and calculate the eCPM for the ad. An easy way to do this is to access Burstly’s website – it can calculate the eCPM for you automatically if you know your CPA (cost-per-action, equal to the “value” of a user for an app).

    Here’s an example of why knowing your ads’ eCPM is so important:

    Let’s say you’re running both third-party ad network ads and house ads in your app. You know that ad network A gives you a $1.00 eCPM and ad network B gives you a $2.00 eCPM, so it’s clear that you should run ad network B before you run ad network A to maximize your revenue, but what about your house ads? Where do they fit in? Using Burstly’s download tracking, you may discover that ads for another one of your apps result in one install per 1,000 ads shown. If this app is $0.99, then that gives you an eCPM of $0.70 and you should run house ads only if your ad networks can’t fill a request. If this app is $1.99, then you should run house ads instead of running ad network A since your eCPM is $1.40 versus ad network A’s $1.00 eCPM.

    So, how do you get started with Burstly’s download tracking? If all of your apps run Burstly for ad serving, you’re ready to go. If not, just integrate our download tracking SDK (iOS only, download here) or integrate with our download tracking API. Once that’s done, just set up download tracking on each creative from its configuration page on our web UI. Check the download tracking box and enter the app’s bundle / package ID and the app’s CPA.

    If you have any questions, we’re here to help. Just send us a note to support@burstly.com.